Active SideCategoryList

Modules, Add-ons and custom code that's more than just a quick hack or Mod.
rjcuser
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: Active SideCategoryList

Post by rjcuser »

Hi

I am trying to show the other sub-categories within the same category I am in, in the right hand side column. Would this be the correct code or is it easier than this or do I need something different?

Thanks

Cheers
Richard
ISC Ultimate v6.1.1 - Windows 2003 Server IIS6 - PHP v5.2.13 - mySQL v5.0.51b
rjcuser
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 8:32 pm

Re: Active SideCategoryList

Post by rjcuser »

Sorted - found 'SideCustomCategoryList'

Thanks...
ISC Ultimate v6.1.1 - Windows 2003 Server IIS6 - PHP v5.2.13 - mySQL v5.0.51b
MegaFemaTron2
Confirmed
Confirmed
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:37 pm

Re: Active SideCategoryList

Post by MegaFemaTron2 »

If you want this to work with 6.1.1 in class.category.php you have to substitute $row in the instructions with $category. $row isn't used in 6.1.1

So the code for step one should look like this:

Code: Select all

                       
$GLOBALS['ActiveCategory'] = $category['categoryid'];
				
// Add this category to the breadcrumb/trail
$this->SetTrail(array($category['categoryid'], $category['catname']));

$GLOBALS['ActiveSubCategory'] = $category['categoryid'];
$parentCat = $category['categoryid'];
I do wonder how to keep the top level cat expanded? So if you have "top cat" and "subcat 1", "2", "3" etc. The top cat is open as long as that's the cat you are viewing. But if you click on one of the sub cats then the top level cat collapses and you have to click on it again to see the sub cats again. That's a big bummer.

Thanks for this mod too! I was looking for a way to do this without javascript and so that the top level categories are also active unlike the javascript versions where the top level cat is no longer accessible. Thanks!
ISC 6.1.1 Ultimate Edition
jason3w
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 11:49 pm

Re: Active SideCategoryList

Post by jason3w »

Hi there,
I'm just working on a menu for the top of our site.
Is it possible to pull in the category list and format it automatically.
i.e.
The format output needs to look like this. (adding the class to each level is the main formating)
<ul class="navigation-1">
<li><a href="http://www.threeworlds.com.au/store/cat ... ling">Fire Twirling</a>
<ul class="navigation-2">
<li><a href="http://www.threeworlds.com.au/store/cat ... -Poi">Fire Poi</a></li>
</ul>
<li><a href="http://www.threeworlds.com.au/store/cat ... uggling</a>
<li><a href="http://www.threeworlds.com.au/store/cat ... ">Drums</a>

If someone can achieve this, what would be a cost for implementing.
Ideally i'd like to pull the pages menu info into the same dropdown too.

The dropdown is current at
http://www.threeworlds.com.au/test

Thanks in advance.
Cheers
Jason
xukc
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 9:45 pm
Location: UK

Re: Active SideCategoryList

Post by xukc »

Post deleted :oops:
I found the other accordion thread and it works like a dream in 6.0.
Post Reply