Shipping Modules

Mod, Add-on & other Development discussion
Post Reply
jonathan2
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:28 am

Shipping Modules

Post by jonathan2 »

[Split from Royal Mail Advanced thread]
Does this push the shipping information to the company? Or does it have to be manually sent?

Martin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: South Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: [Module] Royal Mail Advanced

Post by Martin »

jonathan2 wrote:Does this push the shipping information to the company? Or does it have to be manually sent?
Bit of confusion on what you mean here...


If you're referring to the pricing data, it's based on a file local to the Interspire cart installation so there's no push/pull involved.

The process for updating postal rates currently requires the cart owner to download the latest revision but I intend to make that a pull based system in the future, although it will check for current support/subscription.


If, however you meant the shipping information for actual dispatch, then Royal Mail doesn't work this way as it's not a courier...

If you can clarify what you meant I can provide a better answer.

jonathan2
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:28 am

Re: [Module] Royal Mail Advanced

Post by jonathan2 »

Can we invoke shipping module functions when we checkout(ie aftre the payments are made and order is confirmed)
or is there any event handlers for that?

Martin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: South Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: [Module] Royal Mail Advanced

Post by Martin »

jonathan2 wrote:Can we invoke shipping module functions when we checkout(ie aftre the payments are made and order is confirmed)
or is there any event handlers for that?
Ah... tbh, not sure...

If you are going to find anything along those lines it'll be in the fedex, UPS and possible Canadapost shipping modules as they seem to be using the API... I have my doubts though...

You'd probably have to create an extended class of your own to provide the hooks.. Have you looked into the API documentation to see if that offers any help?

jonathan2
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:28 am

Re: [Module] Royal Mail Advanced

Post by jonathan2 »

Yes have looked and it does not look like it is anywhere to be found.
Do those automatically send the info once the order is placed?

It does not look like any of those send the info.


did you get the file of the module?
If not let me know and I will send it along.

Cheers,
Jonathan

Martin
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1854
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 6:30 pm
Location: South Yorkshire UK
Contact:

Re: [Module] Royal Mail Advanced

Post by Martin »

jonathan2 wrote:Yes have looked and it does not look like it is anywhere to be found.
Do those automatically send the info once the order is placed?
In all honesty, no I don't think they do...

I suspect you would have to write your own API to handle that side of things but if your shipper has an API system then it's really a case of writing something that opens a socket or uses CURL/SOAP to interact. Fair bit of work though.

did you get the file of the module?
If not let me know and I will send it along.
Yeah, I got it... had a long day sorting out a DOA server so unlikely I'll get a chance to look at it for a few days.. Lot to get done.

jonathan2
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 4:28 am

Re: Shipping Modules

Post by jonathan2 »

I/we got this to work and are open to selling it to others.
Jonathan

Post Reply