That would be interesting - would be nice to have it highlighted!
Just to let you know I've posted your code up on http://www.interspire.com/forum/showthr ... #post58700 with credit/thanks. As I said, there have been a lot of requests for it to work on more than 2 levels.
You might even want to pull it out as a new thread.
Accordion Menu R2
Re: Accordion Menu R2
Ok, your hover effect works, but click doesn't so i managed to fix it. This is endless accordion menu (activated on click).
I don't like hover, i like click activation better 
You can pull out to new thread if you want, cheers
Code: Select all
<script type="text/javascript">
function initMenu() {
$('#SideCategoryList ul ul').hide();
$('#SideCategoryList li a').click(
function() {
var checkElement = $(this).next();
if(checkElement.is('ul')) {
$(this).next().slideToggle('normal');
return false;
}
}
);
}
$(document).ready(function() {initMenu();});
</script>

You can pull out to new thread if you want, cheers
Need custom coding for Interspire Shopping Cart? Contact me
-
- Posts: 744
- Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:59 am
Re: Accordion Menu R2
Nice work, but I prefer the hover...
lol


lol
-
- Confirmed
- Posts: 413
- Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 1:23 pm
Re: Accordion Menu R2
Yeah... same here. I'd rather go through the minor "aggravation" of having to click on something that I *want* to see (instead of the aggravation of constantly dealing with the appearance of things that I *don't want* to see.)I don't like hover, i like click activation better
Thanks for all the work, guys!
ISC 4.0.7
"... and let's be honest that whole "by design" thing is getting old too."
"... and let's be honest that whole "by design" thing is getting old too."
Re: Accordion Menu R2
I don't know what I'm doing wrong here but I have two sub cats with products but I also have the main cat with products and I can't get the main cat to show, I only get the child cats 

Re: Accordion Menu R2
The drawback with the code I posted is that when you use 'click' to activate, the top level category cannot be selected (open a new page). Javascript is not my forte so I have been in contact with other developers to see if they can find a solution. I'll post here if we come up with something.
Michael Kopel
NovistaWeb.com
NovistaWeb.com
Re: Accordion Menu R2
Hi,
The code only displays the main category and hides the subcats. When clicking on the next main category it shows the previous subcats and hides the subcats of last clicked maincat
In IE8 the menu works correct, in IE 7 also but in IE6 this problem occurs. I've set the code to click instead of hover, maybe this cause the problem.
Any help appreciated...
The code only displays the main category and hides the subcats. When clicking on the next main category it shows the previous subcats and hides the subcats of last clicked maincat

Any help appreciated...
ISC v6
Re: Accordion Menu R2
Hard to say what the problem is without looking at the code. If you want to re-implement it, I can take a look.
Michael Kopel
NovistaWeb.com
NovistaWeb.com
-
- Posts: 744
- Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2009 8:59 am
Re: Accordion Menu R2
For anyone who has done the new variation - move the JS from Header.html to Footer.html as soon as you can.
Whilst in Header.html it knackers the account sign up form, and also lightbox for viewing the product images.
It works fine (as far as I can tell) running in Footer.html
Whilst in Header.html it knackers the account sign up form, and also lightbox for viewing the product images.
It works fine (as far as I can tell) running in Footer.html
Re: Accordion Menu R2
I recommend this php / html code modification instead of jquery accordion menu, effect is the same, the only thing is that there is no animation...
http://www.interspired.net/forum/viewto ... f=12&t=262
http://www.interspired.net/forum/viewto ... f=12&t=262
Need custom coding for Interspire Shopping Cart? Contact me