Page 1 of 1

Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 1:28 pm
by rjcuser
Hi

Ref V6.1.1

If you select a category to not be visible in the menu, it now doesn't show in the site at all and results in a 404. I am sure that this used to be ok, prior to V6. If this is so, does anyone know how to get the categories to show again on the site but not in the menu? Or if it's always been like this, how can I get a category to show in the site but not in the menu?

Thanks

Cheers
Richard

Re: Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Sat Jul 16, 2011 2:28 pm
by yoshiko
It must be a bug :(
It wasn't like this on version prior to v6.

Re: Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:15 am
by rjcuser
Can anyone help me in getting round this?

Thanks

Cheers
Richard

Re: Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 2:18 pm
by Tony Barnes
Open up /includes/classes/class.category - find:

Code: Select all

				$query = "
					SELECT
						*
					FROM
						[|PREFIX|]categories
					WHERE
						catname = '".$GLOBALS['ISC_CLASS_DB']->quote($arrCats[$i])."' AND
						catparentid = '".(int)$parentCat."' AND
						catvisible = 1
				";
Replace with

Code: Select all

				$query = "
					SELECT
						*
					FROM
						[|PREFIX|]categories
					WHERE
						catname = '".$GLOBALS['ISC_CLASS_DB']->quote($arrCats[$i])."' AND
						catparentid = '".(int)$parentCat."' 
				";
So basically find this code and remove it

Code: Select all

AND
						catvisible = 1
Be careful what you do going forwards, as this will leave 'off' categories visible to people who have links, though I think other than that there are no issues leaping out.

Re: Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:25 pm
by rjcuser
Thank you so much...

Cheers
Richard

Re: Category page showing on site but not in menu

Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 8:39 am
by Tony Barnes
No probs